top of page

Enough is Enough


I don't know about y'all but I am so tired of all of the negativity I see in social media (Facebook especially). I can't look at my news feed for 10 seconds without someone posting something about Trump or the Women's March, or whatever is ticking the masses off that day. I have had Enough!

God is on the throne. Period. Trump is president because that is exactly who God wants to be president right now. He is not surprised by this nor concerned. He is Sovereign. Romans 13:1 states "Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God." I am not sure how much clearer it can get. We have the rulers we have today because God put them there. Now, some may argue that they are in place for our demise/punishment, but that is really not even relevant. They are in place because God is King and He knows best.

Now, my beef (where my soapbox comes in) is that I see so many proclaiming Christians bashing our new President, old President, or other governmental officials (this goes for both sides of the spectrum). That should not happen. Period. Every time we (myself included) talk bad about, post inappropriate memes about, or like/love/agree with these atrocious words we are denying the Sovereignty of God. Let that sink in for a minute. I mean really sink in.

God put each and every leader right where He wanted them. That doesn't mean we are supposed to agree with everything they do or support every decision they make, but we do need to respect them if only because God put them there. We are to pray for them. God can change anyone He desires to get a hold of. He changed me, praise God! 2 Chronicles 7:14 says "If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land." Notice the THEN...

We have a job to do Christian. We have a task to humble ourselves and stop thinking we know better or could do better. Instead, pray. Let's get on our knees and pray for our President (past, present, and future). Let's pray for His family, counsel, friends, etc. Let's stop the negative comments and instead trust in the goodness of God. There is so much peace in knowing He is in control. Even if everything around us feels like it is falling apart, He is working for our good (Romans 8:28). Choose to be someone who encourages. Let those that want to be mad get mad. That doesn't mean you have to participate. Be a light as God calls us to be to a dark and dying world. We know the end of the story and WE WIN...it's already done. Rest in that and let us all do our job to pray.

I need this reminder every day. I am so thankful I am never alone in this world and that God is working even when I can't see it or understand it. Join me in being an encouragement and support for our officials while trusting in God's perfect plan. I love you all. Till next time.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page