top of page

Rejection as Protection


Does life ever just suck the breath out of you? Like you can't think, can't speak, you just sit in a corner try to piece yourself back together? That happened to me this month. I was heartbroken beyond anything I have experienced before. We have lost 3 babies in the past as well as loved ones and have dealt with grief, but this grief was something new. A rejection I wasn't prepared for. Something I am so thankful God wasn't surprised about.

In this hollow time I found myself asking God "Why?", "Why did you move us here for this to happen?" "Did we miss what you really wanted us to do?" Even more so I asked myself "Does Mark believe them?" "Does he see himself through their eyes or yours?" "How can I love him through this?". The questions and doubts are endless, but I think you get my point. However, I have come to realize I am wrong in this type of thinking. I should not be asking "Why" or "How come" questions, but rather "What" questions. "What can I learn from this?", "What is a good thing that has come out of this situation?", and "What were some unrealistic expectations I had in this situation to begin with?" are just a few. Ultimately, God is working for my good. Saying that and living it out are two very different things.

Satan wants nothing more than to use this time to bring discouragement and hopelessness. His desire is for Mark and I to believe the lies that several have been so deceived into believing. While at first that might be tempting, we know the truth. We know God's word is clear and we are strong in who we are in Christ and that He is a good Father. His plans are for us and His ways are higher than our ways. I am so thankful God can see the whole puzzle and not just my little piece. Each day I wake up and have to remind myself to fight for joy and say "Not today Satan!"

Like many, we are hurt. We don't have all the answers. We might not understand the reasoning behind it all, but God does. And that is enough. In Him will I trust and in Him my hope is found. I will praise Him in this storm knowing full well He will never leave me nor forsake me. We are looking forward to what God has in store for us here. We are prayerfully seeking His will and asking that He open doors no man can shut. I am beginning to see this rejection as a means of protection. God knew eyes needed to be opened and changes needed to be made and He is using this trial for good. In His mercy He allowed this. Psalm 34:7-10 declares "The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them. Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! Oh, fear the Lord, you his saints, for those who fear him have no lack! The young lions suffer want and hunger; but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing." We are choosing to take refuge in the Lord and know that we will therefore lack nothing.

I want to encourage you today if you are facing rejection of any kind. There is most likely a level of protection in the midst of the rejection you're living in. Don't get sucked into the victim mindset. Stop asking "Why" and start asking "What". Trust the Lord to work this for good and be patient. We normally don't see the good right away. Respond and live in love knowing each of us will give an account before the Lord one day for our lives and what we did with Jesus. Remember that you can't control the actions of others, but you most certainly can control your own (even when we feel like we can't....we can).

Our joy comes from the Lord. We must fight for it. It doesn't come natural, especially in the midst of trials and heartbreak. John 15:10-11 shows us where our joy comes from "If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full." Our joy comes from the Lord and it will fill us when we follow after Jesus and abide in Him. Will you do that today? Let go of the pain and abide in Jesus. There is enough joy to overflow us all. Fight for it. I love you all. Till next time.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page