top of page

NFL...Stand or Kneel


So I am sure each of you have heard arguments on both sides of this whole National Anthem stand or kneel debate. I thought I would throw my two cents in. Take it or leave it. However, as certain sides are being so incredibly loud about their ideas and impressions of certain people (aka DT), I felt I needed to also voice my thoughts and opinions....free speech right?

I am honestly ashamed of the NFL players/coaches who have decided to take a knee during the National Anthem. Now before you start drafting your hate comment, hear me out. Do I believe those players that truly feel that there is an inequality that needs to be addressed and voiced (I mean I think there is one just based on their salary and mine...am I right?) they should have that right?....absolutely. Now do I feel kneeling during the National Anthem is the correct way to voice that concern for inequality?....absolutely not.

Yes, we each have the right to express ourselves with free speech (unless of course you are kneeling to honor God..that's a different blog post). However, think about this for a moment. If you went to work each day and broke the rules or did things you knew were against work policy, would you be keeping your job for very long? No! Your butt would be fired and justifiably so. So even if you take all the politics and junk out of these "expressions of inequality", they are still wrong.

As much as you want to argue with me, an NFL play is an employee. Playing football is their job. When they were offered the job, they had to look at many things (salary, hours, living arrangements, rules, etc.) and then make a conscious decision to accept, decline, or counter that job offer. Standing during the National Anthem is in the NFL code of conduct. Each and every one of these players agreed on their own to accept these terms. So if nothing else (and there is plenty more), these players who decide to kneel are stating they are above the rules/law. They can do what they want to regardless of what has been outlined and what THEY AGREED to. That is not right. That is not the type of role model we should want for our children (not that many of them are, given the arrest records they hold).

Do I think it is disrespectful for them to kneel. I truly do. I think it rubs in the mud the sacrifices and sacrifices our armed forces make each and every day to keep their butts making millions playing a sport for our entertainment. Those sacrifices have given each of them the opportunity to do something they love and excel at it. Shame on them for using that platform to make their "statements". However, that is my opinion and I understand others might see things differently and that is their right. But I am looking deeper than just my emotions. You should too.

I would love to see these players who are so bothered by inequality start doing something about it besides causing more division. I truly believe they are trying to take a stab at our President which is TOTALLY the wrong approach and a topic for a different day. I would much rather see them using their influence to give back to communities, encourage and support education, and be the role model their position enables them to be. However, rejecting the rules/laws that enable you to play football and trying to be over them is not the way. Be the change needed and stand. Be the change you so desperately want and actually do something worthwhile.

There you have it. Thanks for sticking with me as I got that off my chest. I am praying for all those who are so passionate about this subject to step back and really look at the issues (not just political) going on and actually take steps to make changes in their circle of influence. If each of us did that...man, there is no telling how great this nation could be. Stop griping and get to work. Our nation needs us. I love you all. Till next time.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page