top of page

When life gets messy


Hey y'all. Do you ever have those days where you just really want to curl up and either cry, eat a tub of cookie dough, or just sit staring at the ceiling? Unfortunately, I have been having some of those lately. Life is hard. Life is messy. We get hurt by others. People get sick that we love deeply. We have to move for whatever reason and leave behind precious friendships. You get the point. Sometimes life just sucks (sorry, but it's true). And what I have learned lately is this: it's okay. It doesn't mean I have done something wrong or somehow missed what God has called me to do/be just because life gets hard. In fact, we are promised that it will be hard.

One of my favorite passages comes from James 1:2-4 which states "Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing." Man I just love that! The statement here says when we have trials, not if we have them. And just like Romans 8:28 states, God is working those trials for our good because in James He says they produce steadfastness which as that grows makes us perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. That sounds pretty good to me. Yes, it may hurt for a time, but God is using it to grow me and you through these hard and messy seasons of our lives. What peace and comfort that provides!

I read another sweet passage yesterday during my quiet time. It is from Isaiah 35:8-10. "And a highway shall be there,and it shall be called the Way of Holiness;the unclean shall not pass over it.It shall belong to those who walk on the way;even if they are fools, they shall not go astray.No lion shall be there,nor shall any ravenous beast come up on it;they shall not be found there,but the redeemed shall walk there.And the ransomed of the LORD shall return and come to Zion with singing;everlasting joy shall be upon their heads;they shall obtain gladness and joy,and sorrow and sighing shall flee away." There are several things I love about this passage. First, we have our own highway that no evil is allowed on. Can I get an amen?! Life without evil would be glorious! :) What a reminder that this world is not our home and is only temporary. Second, even if we are foolish (which admit it...we all do foolish things from time to time) we cannot get lost. God has us and will always have us. Praise Jesus! Third, we will return to Zion with joy and there will be no place for sorrow. What an amazing reminder that God is preparing a place for us where there will be no need for tears and no presence of pain. What a glorious truth we can really sink our teeth into during life's tumultuous times.

So, I really think I am writing this to myself today. Personally we have some rough things ahead and sometimes, even though we know the truth, it is still hard. And that's okay. Life wasn't meant to be easy. Hard times will come and when they do, don't beat yourself up for struggling. If you are struggling, you are still living. What we can do is remind ourselves, even when we might not feel like it that God is God and we are not. God is good and He sees the bigger picture and if you love Him, He is working for your good. Even when we can't see it. So chin up. Keep trusting God in the big stuff and the small stuff. Remind yourself, we are not home yet, we're just passing through. I am praying for you all and I love you. Till next time.

I hope this song is a blessing to you:

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page