top of page

God knows exactly what we need


So I am beginning to try and listen to podcasts. This has not been something that I normally do and honestly still feels a bit weird. There are so many! When I started to google and try to look up good, biblical, honest podcasts, I was a bit overwhelmed with how many options there were. I took the advice of people I trusted and subscribed to a few. Then I had to go back through all the episodes and select ones I found interesting. It was weird for me and I almost quit. :) But I digress. :)

Mark of course recommended the Truth in Love podcast the ACBC (Association of Certified Biblical Counselors) does and I selected one that resonated with me that day - Practical Help for the Family from Proverbs feat. Brad Brandt (#242 if you want to look it up). I don't know if it is just having the kids at home all the time and not being able to go and do like normal, but I have been weary and even worrisome regarding our kids. Am I disciplining them correctly? Are we handling the sin in the right manner? Why does ___ keep happening? You get the point. So I figured this podcast would be helpful. And it was! (Imagine that)

Mr. Brandt spoke about the first 8 chapters in Proverbs and how Solomon was using those words as instructions for his children. This morning, I decided to start reading them to further glean what the Lord had Solomon write in order to help me with raising and disciplining Ella and Clay. Of course, God decided it would be a good time to convict me instead. :) Oh, thank you Jesus. :)

Reading Proverbs Chapter 1 you see the chapter broke out into several pieces. You have the introduction in verses 1-7 that explains that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Solomon then jumps right into his appeal to his children to not join those who are greedy for unjust gain in verses 8-19. There were several verses that really jumped out to me such as verse 10 which states My son, if sinners entice you, do not consent. Then in verse 15 and 16 after describing all the ways others can try and drag you into a path that leads to death he writes my son, do not walk in the way with them; hold back your foot from their paths, for their feet run to evil, and they make haste to shed blood. Wowzers! What great verses to instill in not only our children, but ourselves. If we take the time to think through our decisions, of course we do not want to go down the path that runs to evil and sheds blood.

Solomon goes on to speak of wisdom itself, portrayed as a woman crying in the streets for people to listen to her in verses 20-23. She (wisdom) tells the people she will pour out her spirit on them and make her words known to them if they listen and turn at her reproof. Then it gets scary. Verses 24-32 show the consequences of not listening to the Lord through wisdom's reproof and where the Lord really started to convict me. Read below:

24 Because I have called and you refused to listen,

have stretched out my hand and no one has heeded,

25 because you have ignored all my counsel

and would have none of my reproof,

26 I also will laugh at your calamity;

I will mock when terror strikes you,

27 when terror strikes you like a storm

and your calamity comes like a whirlwind,

when distress and anguish come upon you.

28 Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer;

they will seek me diligently but will not find me.

29 Because they hated knowledge

and did not choose the fear of the LORD,

30 would have none of my counsel

and despised all my reproof,

31 therefore they shall eat the fruit of their way,

and have their fill of their own devices.

32 For the simple are killed by their turning away,

and the complacency of fools destroys them;

Wow...I mean. Geez. This is scary stuff to me and really pretty much slapped me in the face. How often do I refuse to listen? How often do I ignore God's counsel and refuse to obey His reproof? How many times have I said to myself "I can work on this area of my life later....it is too hard right now"? We are living in unprecedented times and part of me wonders......is God laughing? Is He not listening to our pleas because we hated His knowledge and chose not to listen or fear Him? Very possible. He has every right. He is God. We are not. However, there is one more verse in this chapter.

33 but whoever listens to me will dwell secure and will be at ease, without dread of disaster.

I love the buts in the Bible. :) There is hope in the midst of the calamity we are in. However, it does require action on our part. We must listen. We must obey. That does not mean God will take away the consequences of our refusal to listen. Don't believe this is a "say a few words of repentance and every bad thing goes away" type situation. However, it does mean that we can dwell secure and be at ease when we are seeking to listen and obey the Lord. What comfort in the fact that God is faithful and keeps His promises. This has really opened my eyes to see some things going on in my own life as consequences for my failure to heed the Lord. Hear my heart in this. I am not saying everything negative going on in your life or in the world today is a consequence. It could be, but as I am NOT God, I cannot make such a statement as fact. All I wanted to point out with this blog today is what God has convicted me of and how there is HOPE when we listen to the Lord. A hope that allows us to dwell secure and without dread of disaster.

So what started as a way to help me raise my kids, developed into a conviction of my own sins (which will help me raise my kids) :) and a renewed hope in the Lord. What an amazing God we serve. I love you all. Till next time.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page